Maths DNA Mitochondrial Base Pairs In Chamakam Rudram

Tripura as described in Hinduism.jpg

Sri Rudram is a powerful Mantra, where Lord Shiva is worshiped in his aspect as Rudra.

This is probably the only one Hymn of the Vedas where Shiva is directly mentioned , though in secret, while Hymns on Agni, Varuna,Narayana, Vishnu .. are many.

I have written on this in a separate Post.

The Portion Rudram praises  Rudra and in Chamakam the devotee asks Rudra for everything a Human being could wish for.

There are many ways of chanting the Rudra, depending on intonation(Gana) and the results vary for each.

And there are different types of conduction of Sri Rudram, in terms of how many people, and how much each one chants at the same time.

This also determines the result of the Rudra Upasna.

Worshippers of Lord Siva recite Rudram with 11 sections followed by Chamakam with 11 sections as a routine prayer every day. This is called the daily nyasam or mode of worship. In the Rudram part, the devotee pays repeated obeisance to Lord Siva and prays for his blessings for human well being. But on special occasions, the number of times the recitation is done is increased.

In Rudra Ekadasi, Rudram is recited 11 times and Chamakam is recited once. After Rudram is recited once, one section or anuvaka ofChamakam is recited in order.

In Laghurudram, Rudra Ekadasi is done 11 times, that is, Rudram is recited 112  or 121 times and Chamakam is recited 11 times.

     In Maharudram, 11 Laghurudrams are recited; that is, Rudram is recited 113 = 1331 times and Chamakam 112 = 121 times.

In Atirudram, 11 Maharudrams are recited; that is, Rudram is recited 114 = 14641 times and Chamakam is recited 113 = 1331 times.

The Chamakam mentions completely the ideal of human happiness and defines in the highest degree the desires to be fulfilled without delimiting those to be asked for or to be granted..

DNA and Mathematics in Sri Rudram.

In the Chamakam, in anuvakas or sections 1 to10, the devotee prays for almost everything needed for human happiness and specifies each item.  But in the 11th anuvaka or 11th section of Chamakam, the devotee prays for the desired things not specifically but in terms of numbers, first in terms of odd numbers from 1 to 33 and later in multiples of 4 from 4 to 48, as follows:

Eka cha me, thisrascha may, pancha cha may, sapta cha may, Ekadasa cha may, trayodasa cha may, panchadasa cha may, saptadasa cha may, Navadasa cha may, ek trimshatis cha may, trayovimshatis cha may, Panchavimshatis cha may, saptavimshatis cha may, navavimshatis cha may, Ekatrimshatis cha may, trayatrimshatis cha may, panchatrimshatis cha may, Chatasras cha may, ashtou cha may, dwadasa cha may, shodasa cha may, Vimsatis cha may, chaturvimshatis cha may, ashtavimshatis cha may, Dwathrimashatis cha may, shatstrimshas cha may, chatvarimshas cha may, Chatuschatvarimshas cha may, ashtachatvarimshas cha may”
which means:

“Let these be granted to me. One, three, five, seven, nine, eleven, thirteen, seventeen, nineteen, twenty one, twenty three, twenty five, twenty seven, twenty nine, thirty one and thirty three as also four, eight, twelve, sixteen, twenty, twenty four, twenty eight, thirty two, thirty six, forty, forty four and forty eight”.

Traditional scholars and pandits explain the significance of these numbers as follows:


1 = Nature or Prakriti

3 = The three gunas, namely sattwa, rajas and tamas

5 = The five mahabhutas, or the five basic elements, that is, prithvi, ap, tejas, vayu and akasha, (earth, water, energy or agni or fire, wind and space).

7 = The five sensory organs and the mind and intellect

9 = The nine openings in the human body, called the navadwaras.

11 = The ten pranas and the Sushumna nadi

13 = Thirteen Devas

15 = The nadis or nerve centres in the human body

17 = The limbs of the human body

19 = Medicinal herbs

21 = Important vulnerable parts of the body

23 = Devas controlling serious diseases

25 = Apsaras in heaven

27 = Gandharvas

29 = Vidyut Devas

31 = Worlds

33 = Devas


4 = The four ideals of human life, namely dharma, artha, kama and moksha,

(righteous way of life, wealth, desire, and salvation)

8 = The four Vedas and the four upavedas

12 = Six vedangas and six shastras.

16 = Knowledge to be obtained from God

20 = The Mahabhutas

24 = The number of letters in the Gayatri metre

28 = The number of letters in the Ushnik metre

32 = The number of letters in the Anushtup metre

36 = The number of letters in the Brihati metre

40 = The number of letters in the Pankti metre

44 = The number of letters in the Trushtup metre

48 = The number of letters in the Jagati metre

   According to Dr Sasidharan, these numbers represent a polymer chain of molecules that form apa or water that enables evolution of life and intelligence, and apa is nothing but the nitrogenous base pairs of the DNA.   The numbers 1 to 33 represent the 33000 base pairs of mitochondrial base pairs of DNA.  The numbers 4 to 48 represent the 48 million nuclear bases of DNA.  The two sets of DNA bases combine to provide sustenance of human wellbeing and onward evolution of human life.  When the devotee prays for the blessing of these numbers, actually he is praying for bestowing on him all these DNA bases which conduce to sustenance of human wellbeing and happiness.



9 responses to “Maths DNA Mitochondrial Base Pairs In Chamakam Rudram”

  1. Thank you Sir! For enumerating the significance of the Rudram. Our ancients were truly knowledgeable!


  2. All Respects ! Precious , Sophisticated and Articulated Writing on Sri Rudram !
    #Reverences . Ramanan Ji !


  3. This is an important study. You have done a great job in trying to bring out the hidden secret behind Rudram and Chamakam. Our ancients were not mere believers or superstitious singers. They were truthseekers. The power of the Vedas is well known now (of course not to secularists). Swami Vivekananda was in the Himalayas when he had a great vision. In that vision he saw a Vedic sage of 10s of thousands of years ago, chanting Vedic hymns. Hearing them, Swami Vivekananda was convinced beyond doubt about the authenticity of the vibrations, the anudatta, udatta and swarita, the chant itself of the Vedas. Further, once his friend was very iill in Calcutta. Vivekananda went to see him. The moment he entered the house, he began chanting from the Brihadaranyaka loudly. The very vibrations of the chants made the friend well. Engrossed in petroleum, gas and other energy resources, we are unaware as to how much we are losing, by neglecting Vedic studies scientifically. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: