Who Are Ritviks Qualification Details

Vyasa . image

Those who have followed the procedures in Homas,Sacrificial 🔥 Fires Ceremonies conducted would have noticed terms like Acharya,Hotar and Rikvik.While people can identify Acharya, not many people know about Ritvik.


The Vedic priest who officiates Vedic sacrifices or rituals known as Yajnas is known as Ritvik . Qualification as below.


  • Well-versed in the Vedas.
  • Should have gained his knowledge the guru, in the guru-shishya tradition of learning.
  • Of good lineage.
  • He should have been leading a pure life.

Types of Rikviks

  • Hotar representing the Rig Veda
  • Adhvarya representing the Yajur Veda
  • Udgatar representing the Sama Veda
  • Brahma representing the Atharva Veda

Each one of these Ritviks has three assistants . Details.

  • Hotar – Maitravaruna, Acchavaka, Gravastut
  • Adhvaryu – Pratiprasthata, Neshta, Unneta
  • Udgatar – Prastota, Pratiharta, Subrahmanya
  • Brahma – Brahmanachamsi, Agnidhra, Pota

%d bloggers like this: