Twenty four Rishis Meters Devatâs of Gayatri Mantra Details.

Gayatri Mantra is the ultimate among mantras.

Gayatri is a Meter, Chandas.

Gayatri is the Mother of All Mantras.

Smritis declare that no mantra will yield results for one who does not chant Gayatri.

Gayatri Mantra was revealed through Sage Viswamitra.

People of three dispositions ,Brahmana, Kshatriya and Vaisya are enjoined to Chant it as a part of Sandhya Vandhana , thrice a day.

Sandhya Vandhana has the following components, apart from routine rituals like Aachamana and Pranayama.

They are,

1.Purification of Speech,Body and Mind.

2.Obesiance to water and purification by it.

3.Thanksgiving to Ten planets and ancestors.

4.Atoning one’s impure actions( by speech, body and mind)

5.Worship of The Sun.

6.Chanting Gayatri.

7.Worshiping Reality ,Brahman.

8.Realising and offering Worship to Sun as the Visible Reality.

9.Offering the result of Sandhya Vandana to Reality, that is non attachment to action performed.

While worshipping Sun, Sun is requested to be present.

So is Gayatri.

Sun is worshipped as Gayatri and Gayatri as Sun.

As Gayatri is a Meter, Chandas, (Anushtup), the Anushtup is invoked.

Though Gayatri was revealed through Viswamitra,he did not create or invent it.

He, along with other Rishis are invoked; Viswamitra is given pride of place.

Twenty four Rishis are associated with Gayatri,one Rishi for one syllable of Gayatri Mantra,totalling twenty four.

Sinilarly twenty four chandas are referred to , though Gayatri is Anushtup Chandas.

We mention only the following Rishis, Chandas and Devatha ,as a token, when we perform Sandhya Vandana dàily.


Atri, Bhrigu, Kutsa, Vasishta,Gautama, Kasyapa, Angirasa.


Gayatri, Ushnik Anushtup.


Agni, Vaayu, Arga,Vaagesa, Viswe Deva.

The twenty four Rishis.

(1) Vâma Deva, (2) Attri, (3) Vas’istha, (4) S’ukra, (5) Kanva, (6) Parâs’ara, (7) the very fiery Vis’vamitra, (8) Kapila, (9) S’aunaka, (10) Yâjñavalkya, (11) Bharadvâja, (12) the ascetic Jamadagni, (13) Gautama, (14) Mudgala, (15) Vedavyâsa, (16) Lomas’a, (17) Agastya, (18) Kaus’ika, (19) Vatsya, (20) Pulastya, (21) Mânduka, (22) the ascetic in chief Durvâsâ, (23) Nârada and (24) Kas’yapa.

The Chandas, in order.
– (1) Gâyatrî, (2) Usnik, (3) Anustup, (4) Brihatî, (5) Pankti, (6) Trisnup, (7) Jagatî, (8) Atijagatî, (9) S’akkarî, (10) Ati S’akkarî, (11) Dhriti, (12) Ati Dhriti, (13) Virât, (14) Prastârapankti, (15) Kriti, (16) Prâkriti, (17) Âkriti, (18) Vikriti, (19) Samkriti, (20) Aksarapankti, (21) Bhuh, (22) Bhuvah, (23) Svah and (24) Jyotismatî.

The Devatâs of the several letters in due order, are :– (1) Agni, (2) Prajâpati, (3) Soma, (4) Îs’âna, (5) Savitâ, (6) Âditya, (7) Brihaspati, (8) Maitrâvaruna, (9) Bhagadeva, (10) Aryamâ, (11) Ganes’a, (12) Tvastrâ, (13) Pûsâ, (14) Indrâgnî, (l5) Vâyu, (16) Vâmadeva, (17) Maitrâ varunî (18) Vis’vadeva, (19) Mâtrikâ, (20) Visnu, (21) Vasu, (22) Rudra Deva, (23) Kuvera, and (24) the twin As’vinî Kumâras.

Reference and citation.
first Chapter of the Twelfth Book on the description of Gâyatrî in the Mahâpurânam S’rî Mad Devî Bhâgavatam of 18,000 verses by Maharsi Veda Vyâsa.

By Ramanis blog

Retired Senior Management Professional. Lectures on Indian Philosophy,Hinduism, Comparative Religions. Researching Philosophy, Religion. Free lance Writer.Blogger,Tedex Speaker


  1. Thanks, Sri Ramanan Annaa. Very useful to know the details of the Gayatri Mantra.


Leave a comment

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.