What Is Agrahara, List Of Agraharams

This comes after the Sannidhi Street,which contains more Small temples, other than the primary one,.

Then the Mada Veedhis.

This ,again is peculiar to South India.

Madam in Tamil means Balcony.

In ancient days the Mada Veedihs were the prerogative of the Kings.

Exception was Brahmins’ Dwelling Area.

Brahmins Naming Dress Eating Rules Manusmriti

Manusmriti provides exhaustive details on the modes of Dress,the Staff(Danda) a Brahmin is expected to carry, The process of preparing the Upaveeda How to drink water and how to eat, for Brahmins.

The rules as is the norm are very stringent.

Here they are.

Naming the Brahmin.

Brahmin An Outcast ,Vratya, Manusmriti

In this article we shall see how a Brahmin is declared as an Outcast in one instance, which is very serious.

That instance is Upanayana, wearing of the Sacred Thread)Ceremony)

36. In the eighth year after conception, one should perform the initiation (upanayana) of a Brahmana, in the eleventh after conception (that) of a Kshatriya, but in the twelfth that of a Vaisya.

37. (The initiation) of a Brahmana who desires proficiency in sacred learning should take place in the fifth (year after conception), (that) of a Kshatriya who wishes to become powerful in the sixth, (and that) of a Vaisya who longs for (success in his) business in the eighth.

What Is Dharma, Righteousness Hinduism

There are certain Dharmas which are constant, like Truth,Compassion.

The Dharma of a Brahmana is at variance with that of a Kshatriya;when insulted or provoked a Kshatriya must attack, a Brahmin must bear with them.

Keeping quiet when speaking the Truth is sometimes called Dharma.

Dharma varies according to the stages of Life,Brahmachari’s is different from Gruhasha and Gruhstha’s is different form Vanaprastha for identical situations.

So much so Lord Krishna says it vey difficult to say what Dharma is even for a very leaned man(Bhagavad Gita)

Yet there is a reasonably detailed description of what Dharma is in in Bruhat Purana.

‘ sathyam Dhaya thataha santhirahimsa cheti keerthitha,

Dharmasyaavayavaastha chatvaarah poornatham gatha.

Twelve different forms of Sathya (Truth).

‘Amityavachanam satyam Sweekaarapradhipaalanam,

Priyavaakyam kuroh Seva Dhrdam chaiva vrataham Kruham’

Aasthikyam Saadhusangasya Pitur maathu piyankarah

Suchithvam,dwividam chaiva hreerasanchaya eva Cha’

1.Amitavachanam-not speaking that which is not true.

2.Sathyam-Truth,Not speaking a fact is different from speaking the fact as it is.

3.Sweekaarapradhipaalanam-Completing what one has undertaken to do.

4.Priyavaakayam-Speaking what is pleasing.

5.Kurror Seva-Serving the elders.

6.Dhrudam cha Eva vrtham Krutham-if one takes a vow, it has to be completed.